Monday, February 18, 2008

Sta. Maria Church

Santa Maria was declared as an independent town from Taug by a Royal decree dated September 6, 1875. It was erected as a parish on November 4, 1899. The first appointed pastor was Fr. Paulino Aguilar, O.P., but it was actually Father Francisco Pulido, O.P. who discharged the role of the former.

Before the year 1940, the parish church was made of cogon and bamboo facing the north. The present church and the convent were constructed by Fr. Leon Bitanga.

No comments: